Friday, April 27, 2012

Don't Forget to Logout of Amazon.com

Make sure if you are helping a patron download a book to their kindle from a staff PC that you logout of their Amazon.com account when you are done! A patron and I were going through all the steps on how to download a book to her kindle and when we were ready to leave the the ALD/Overdrive page and get into her Amazon account, some how it was still logged into the previous patron's account. Without realizing the different names between the kindles we accidentally downloaded the book to a random patron's kindle. Whoops! It seems that if you don't logout from Amazon.com that the computer (even if you close the browser) will remember the last Amazon account user and download the book to that account. So we had to replace the hold for the original patron and hopefully the random patron that got the library book enjoyed it!

1 comment:

  1. Thanks for sharing this great adventure Emily! So when a patron comes in and asks "what the...?", we will know

    ReplyDelete