Tuesday, December 13, 2011

For those more "nervous" patrons......

When patrons are nervous about what happens to their personal information when they are done using our public computers, I tell them they can utilize "private browsing". In Internet Explorer the settings are found under Tools and then Inprivate Browsing. When they click on Inprivate Browsing, a new browser window is opened up. They will see a notification at the top of the screen which says "Inprivate". When they close the window after browsing, the setting is removed. In Safari, click on Safari and then Private Browsing. We tell patrons that all information is erased when it goes into the deep reboot, but this may make those who are a little more paranoid feel better when they put private personal or financial information on a public library computer.

1 comment:

  1. Thank you Jody. THis will be very helpful. I have had several patrons ask what happens to their personal information on the PC.

    ReplyDelete